About Us

The Sandy Hook Foundation, established in 1989, is a non-profit, registered 501c-3 charity. As the official friends group of Gateway National Recreation Area, Sandy Hook Unit, the foundation’s mission is to provide support to programs and projects on Sandy Hook.

Annual Board meeting

Pictured left to right: Ray Cosgrove (prior SHF President), Dick Lilleston, Dot Cosgrove, Gerry Glaser, Ellen Bollinger, Jane Preziosi (SHF Office Manager), Betsy Barrett, Suzanne McCarthy (Deputy Superintendent of the Gateway National Recreation Area in Ft. Wadsworth, NY), David Hoder, Doug Rossbach, Pete McCarthy (Unit Coordinator of Sandy Hook), Rich Eittreim, Pat Alcaro and Jim Lizotte.


2017-2018 Trustees

Patricia Alcaro, President
Betsy Barrett
Ellen Bollinger
Rich Eittreim, Secretary
Gerry Glaser
David Hoder, Vice President Special Projects
Dick Lilleston
Lucy Matchett
Rich Phillips
Doug Rossbach, Finance/Treasurer